5 minutes

It was a quite Friday morning. Sun finally decided to grace us with its presence. As I was walking out of the doors of Vyas Bhawan, I had a final glimpse at my watch, whose hands indicated 9:00AM! I was late! I rushed towards my cycle, jumped on it and pedaled it with all my strength and stamina to make it to KDM tutorial class on time or rather close to it, for that matter.

As I moved out of the gates, on to the main road to Faculty Divisions, I noticed a rickshaw-wala in half sweater coming from temple towards Patel Statue. May be somebody of acquaintance was riding that rickshaw, I was too late to observe. As I cycled my way through fast moving crowd, I noticed less markings of bird feces on road as compared to other days, may be “Winter is Going”.

I waved to a couple of friends, who were returning from their early morning class. May be they waved back too, but I was cycling at top speed, again ignorant of mundane presence around me. Had a look at my watch again, 9:03AM and I had just crossed Gandhi Bhawan Stairs. Observing the crowd movement pattern, current speed and temperature of wind, I decided to increase the pace with hope to make it to class by 9:06Am with an error of 1 minute at max.

The saplings near Krishna Stairs looked greener and younger and there was a group of students making its way to NAB from Krishna Bhawan. There were two choices in front of me: either increase my further up or slowdown and let them pass. I decided to pedal with all the strength left in my calf muscles and toes and steered as if my life depended on it…… Phew! Just crossed them. Finally found a parking space next to a purple lady bird, locked my ride in hurry and rushed on the stairs and then skipped one step at a time on the next two flights, finally walking briskly, entering 2203.

Quickly enough, went to teacher’s desk, picked up the practice problem and drawing sheet with my name scribbled on it, and comfortably sat at the back, trying to avoid the constant stare of my instructor, may be disgusted that his students cannot make to 2nd hour class on time. I looked at my watch again, 9:05AM, while pulling out my stationary from the depths of my bag and finally with a glimpse at my surrounding I indulged in my velocity diagram, I was going to chart.

That was my 5 minutes this morning and an assignment which was not evaluated.

સારી બાય (Good bye in Gujarati)

2 thoughts on “5 minutes

Leave a Reply

