The Test

Khamma-Ghani(Hello in Marwadi)

I was walking through the corridors of my college going for a test which was very different from the conventional ones we usually face. It was a test for some English Press Recruitment. It was all deja-vu. In my first year too, I failed to capitalize couple of opportunities merely because I didn’t even try. This goes way back in the past, during school times too. But today, it was different, even though the feeling of failure, of not being competent enough, sitting there in the hall clueless and every one staring at me including the invigilator, was there like old times, there was something different this time. 

I was not slowing down, or turned at wrong turn and went back to the room, or was feeling nervous. Yes, there was that feeling, but apart from that, every cell in brain was signalling me one thing: Just Try. I propelled myself into the room and poof! The feeling of failure was gone and determination to do well appeared in me in an instant. I faced myself and overwhelmed myself to sit in that hall and take that test. Thus I stepped in, collected the answer sheet, looked for a suitable place and sat, waiting for it to start. Still not feeling nervous, but determined to give my best effort even though I might not be selected. 

“I won’t leave the room until I have tried my best”, was the only thing I kept in my mind. Nothing else. Everything else didn’t matter too. “I might fail”….“So what, at least you will learn about the kind of questions that will be asked.” “People might think I am a loser, if I don’t get selected. They will mock me for even trying saying that I wasn’t worth it.” …… “Well, we don’t know what would happen after the test, but I would definitely be a loser if I don’t even try and give up even before the test starts.” “I will keep my hand on face, so that very few people or none at all recognize me.” …… “Why to hide behind your hands. It was always ‘Win Like a Man, Lose like a Man’ motto for me. Instead sit confidently!” 

With these arguments and counter-arguments, the test began. First question appeared on black board and I was clueless about it. For a second I decided to handover the blank answer sheet and head out. What is the point of this all! I won’t get selected anyway. But then second question appeared and it appeared solvable and with a little effort I was able to write something for it, which I thought will be suitable. I thanked myself for not leaving! Then I returned to question 1, and wrote something for it too! The question I was sitting blank for, I was able to write something for it. It did not click straightaway, but it clicked.

Now whether I get selected or not is a different story. I probably might not get selected or I might be the first choice of selectors, both are equally probable. The lesson I learnt from here was: Try and Something will definitely happen which would be better than nothing. In a different scenario, I might have left the room immediately after reaching and would have missed on writing a humorous post on our Registration Procedure. 😉 I might or might not have written what evaluating person desired for, but it was fun writing that composition for almost 40 mins and then spending next 20 on that difficult question. Over all an hour well spend in doing something productive, in stepping out from comfort zone and doing something which I like to do. 

In life, although I haven’t lived that much to say these lines but I have experienced enough to realize their importance, that in life, there will be endless number of opportunities. Some you would be able to grab within your comfort zone and for others you might need to step out of the bubble. Well, never hesitate from doing that! Who knows that the opportunity you grab outside of comfort zone might bring you a hell of a fortune! Opportunity Cost. Thus never hesitate in doing something different and stepping out of your comfort zone who knows that the new place might be even comfortable. 😉 Thus Try even though you might not feel much positive inside but don’t let it stop you from trying as failure is just another stepping stone in the path to success.

“If you succeed, you lead                                                                                                                                   But if fail, you guide”.

Ghani-Ghani-Khamma(Reply to Khamma Ghani) 😀

Leave a Reply

